search this site
29th SEA Games Tenpin Bowling Championships
August 19 - 31, 2017  Sunway Megalanes, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Indonesia wins bronze medal

20th August, Kuala Lumpur: 2015 SEA Games Team silver medallist, Yeri amadona gave Indonesia a first medal at the 29th SEA Games Tenpin Bowling Championship after winning the bronze medal in the Men's Singles event.

2014 Incheon Asian Games singles gold medallist, Yannaphon Larpapharat of Thailand got off the block with a cracking 279 in his opening game to lead Malaysia's Adrian Ang and Indonesia's Diwan Rezaldy, who shared second spot on 258.

Singapore's Darren Ong surprised the field by taking over the lead after he downed a stunning 270 to add to his first game of 254. The Thai suffered a lowly 183 to slip away as Ang remained in second with another superb 257 in the second game.

The Singaporean continued to lead the pack at the halfway mark despite managing only 197 but his gap to the persuing Malaysian was reduced to just five pins. A second Malaysian, Ahmad Muaz moved up into third spot.

Ong stumbled to another poor game in the fourth and Ang took the opportunity to take over the running with 228 in the fourth game. Rafiq, who was gradually making up grounds, trailed his compatriot by eight pins.

Rafiq rolled a slightly better fifth game of 227 to move into the lead while Ang managed 215 to stay in contention, just four pins adrift. Indonesia's Yeri Ramadona fired two big games to take up third.

Men's Singles bronze medallist, Yeri Ramadona

With less than ten pins seprating the front runners, it was indeed a tense affair and it came down to who can better manage the huge pressure. With the capacity crowd firmly behind the Malaysians, it was no surprise that Rafiq prevailed to finish in style with 255 and sealed the gold medal with 1418.

Ang also ended strongly with 243 to give Malaysia a one-two finish and earned the silver medal with 1402. Ramadona kept his cool to end with 235 to claim the bronze medal with 1380.

Hengki Susanto did well to finish sixth with 1363 and Rezaldy taking up seveneth with 1361. Billi Muhammad Islam managed 13th position with 1282 while Ryan Lalisang, who had a disasterous start, made up grounds to end in 14th position with 1281. Hardy Rachmadian took 15th spot with 1280.

Earlier in the Women's Singles event, Cherie Tan of Singapore easily won the gold medal with 1413 ahead of two Malaysians, Sin Li Jane and Shalin Zulkifli who settled for the silver and bronze medals with 1300 and 1297 respectively.

Indonesia's best women finisher was debutant, Alidila Indryati in 11th position with 1255 ahead of 2015 SEA Games Masters bronze medallist, Tannya Roumimper in 13th with 1249. Sharon Limansantoso, Nadia Pramanik, Putty Armein and Novie Phang ended their opening day campaign mid-field.

Adrian Ang and Rafiq Ismail with their silver and gold medals

Competition will resume with the Doubles event tomorrow and the Mixed Doubles on August 22. The Trios and 5-player Team event will be held on August 23 and 24 culminating with the Masters finals on August 25 and 26.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

 • Secretariat
 • Tentative Schedule
 • Technical Handbook
 • Previous Championships
 • Past Winners
 • Short Oil Pattern
 • Long Oil Pattern
 • Participating Countries-->
Detailed Scores
 • Women's Singles
 • Men's Singles
DOUBLES - Long/Short
 • Women's Doubles
 • Men's Doubles
 • Mixed Doubles Sq A
 • Mixed Doubles Sq B
 • Mixed Doubles Combined
TRIOS - Long/Short
 • Women's Trios Block 1
 • Men's Trios Block 1
 • Women's Trios Block 2
 • Men's Trios Block 2
TEAM OF 5 - Short/Long
 • Women's Team Block 1
 • Men's Team Block 1
 • Women's Team Block 2
 • Men's Team Block 2
 • Women's All Events
 • Men's All-Events
MASTERS - Long/Short
 • Women's Mstr Block 1
 • Men's Mstr Block 1
 • Women's Mstr Block 2
 • Men's Mstr Block 2
 • Women's Stepladder
 • Men's Stepladder
 • Women's Medal
 • Men's Medal
 • Overall Medal
Sanctioned by
ABF logo
Asian Bowling Federation
Supported by

SEA Games Federation
Organized by

Malaysian Tenpin
Bowling Congress
Hosted at

Sunway Megalanes
 Copyright © Jaya Ancol Bowling Center, 2005-2017. All Rights Reserved. Designed and maintained by NetMedia Services