WorldBowling ABF ABF Tour JAB Club
    search this site
18th Asian Games Palembang 2018
August 18 - 27, 2018 • JSC Bowling Centre, Palembang, Indonesia
Asia's biggest stage set for battle

19th August, Palembang Asia's biggest bowling competition at the newly-built Jakabaring Sports Center is all set for 167 players from 18 countries to do battle for glory at the 18th Asian Games Palembang 2018 which will commence on Wednesday.

99 men and 68 women players were confirmed by team officials who attended the team managers' meeting chaired by Mr Michael Seymour, Technical Director for the tenpin bowling event with Ms Vivien Lau, BBS, JP, Secretary General of the World Bowling representing Sheikh Talal Mohd Al-Sabah, President of Asian Bowling Federation and World Bowling.

Alsp present were Mr Yudi Se Sutrasna, INASGOC Deputy Secretary, Mr Akmad Yusuf Wibowo, Mr Aswin Limansantoso, Secretary General of Persatuan Boling Indonesia and Competition Manager, Mr John Janawicz of Kegel Company Inc., USA, the Technical Official responsible for the maintenance of the lanes while the Head Referee was Mr Cheah Ban Cheng.

Ms Suwalai Satrulee, Vice President of ABF, Mr Choi Jang-Kyu, Vice President of ABF and Dr Danny Santos, ABF Delegate to World Bowling Executive Board are appointed Jury of Appeal introduced. Mr Seymour welcomed team officials on behalf of the host nation, Indonesia at the start of the meeting before a roll call was made.

Mr Sutrasna also extended his warmest welcome to all team officials on behalf of the games organizing committee during his opening address. Mr Seymour proceeded with the meeting by going through the competition schedule, ball registration procedures, official practice sessions and other matters of importance.

Members of the Competition Committee at the head table

Two official practice sessions will be held on August 20 and 21 where the participants will have a chance to test the two lane conditions - Medium and Long Oil pattern outlined by Mr Janawicz.

The odd-numbered lanes will be dressed with the long oil pattern and the even-numbered lanes will be dressed with the medium oil pattern selected by Mr Janawicz for the first day session while the reverse will be used for the second day session.

Indonesian men are represented by Ryan Lalisang, Hardy Rachmadian, Yeri Ramadona, Billy Muhammad Islam, Diwan Rezaldy and debutant, Fachri Ibnu Askar while the women's team comprise of Tannya Roumimper, Sharon Limansantoso, Putty Armein and debutants Nadia Pramanik, Alisha Nabila and Alidla Indryati.

For the first time in the Asian Games, only three events will be contest - Trios, Team of 6 and Masters. Competition kicks off with the Women's Trios divided into 2 blocks of 3 games each on August 22 while the Men's Trios, also divided into 2 blocks of 3 games each, will be held on August 23.

The top 3 Trios in their respective divisions will be awarded the medals. The Team of 6 event will be contested over the next two days - August 24 for the women and August 25 for the men, again over two blocks of 3 games each. The top 3 Teams in their respective divisions will again be awarded the medals.

Mr Yudi Se Sutrasna delivering his welcome speech at the meeting

The top 16 men and top 16 women based on the 12 games total pinfalls from the two events (only a maximum of two from each NOC) will qualify for the Round-Robin Masters finals over two blocks of 8 games each on August 26 and 27. The top 3 men and top 3 women will advance to the stepladder finals shootout.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Palembang, Indonesia.

  Technical Handbook
  Tentative Schedule
  Previous Games
  Past Winners
  Games Records
  Participating Countries
  Medium Oil Pattern
  Long Oil Pattern
Detailed Scores
  Women Block 1
  Women Block 2
  Men Block 1
  Men Block 2
  Women Block 1
  Women Block 2
  Men Block 1
  Men Block 2
  Women Standings
  Men Standings
  Men Block 1
  Women Block 1
  Women Block 2
  Men Block 2
  Women Stepladder
  Men Stepladder
  Women Tally
  Men Tally
  Overall Tally
Sanctioned by
ABF logo
Asian Bowling Federation
Endorsed by

Olympic Council of Asia
PBI logo
Perstuan Boling Indonesia
Organized by

Indonesia Asian Games
Organizing Committee
 Copyright © Jaya Ancol Bowling Center, 2005 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. Designed and maintained by NetMedia Services