WorldBowling ABF ABF Tour JAB Club
    search this site
ABF Tour - Hong Kong 2017
July 16, 2017
Second victory for Indonesia

16th July, Hong Kong: 2015 ABF Tour Indonesia leg champion, Nadia Pramanik gave her country, Indonesia a second women's title with victory in the 2017 ABF Tour Hong Kong final while it was a double joy for Ammar Tarrad after the Saudi won his second conecutive men's title.

In the all-Indonesia women's final match, both Nadia and challenger, Putty Armein struck twice in their two opening frames. But Putty knocked down a third strike to take a 11 pin lead. A split in the fourth frame from Nadia allowed Putty to extend her lead to 20 pins.

Nadia recovered with two consecutive strikes to drew the match level after the sixth frame. As neither had strikes in the seventh frame, both manage to roll a strike a piece leaving little seprating them after the eighth frame.

When Putty stumbled to a split in the ninth frame and Nadia spared hers, it all came down to the final frame to decide the tie. A strike in the tenth sealed the match for Nadia, 243-211 and gave Indonesia another women's title following Sharon Limansantoso's victory in the 43rd Hong Kong International Open yesterday.

Nadia beat another team-mate, Alisha Nabila, 234-208 in yet another all-Indonesia semi-final match to reach the final. The champion dispatched sole-Thai finalist, Angkana Netrvseth, 245-224 in the opening round before beating newly-crowned Chinese Taipei Open champion, Wang Ya-Ting, 232-197 to advance to the semi.

Second tour title for Nadia Pramanik

Putty easily defeated local favourite and 2013 ABF Tour Hong Kong leg champion, Milki Ng, 265-212 in the first semi-final match to earn a crack at a second tour title this year. Limansantoso crashed out in the opening round to Ng, 208-213 in the opening round.

Novie Phang defeated debutant, Angela Boswell of New Zealand, 217-204 before losing the Ng, 209-233 in the second. A fourth Indonesian finalist, Aldila Indryati was eliminated in the opening round by Wang 219-208 in the first round.

In the men's division, it was a double joy for Ammar Tarrad after the Saudi narrowly defeated local favourite, Wu Siu Hong, 202-201 to win his second conseutive men's title and his first-ever tour title following his triumph in the 43rd Hong Kong International Open yesterday.

The champion had reached the final after ousting Aseel Alroomi, 232-198 in the first semi-final match. He also defeated Ernest Kwok of Hong Kong, 203-200 in the first round and Lee Gyo Hwan of Korea, 257-235 in the second round en-route to winning the title, a trophy and a prize of US$500.

Wu, who settled for the first-runner-up position to take home US$300, edged Annop Arromsaranon of Thailand, 236-232 in the other semi to progress to the final. Indonesia had four finalists in the men's division.

Hengki Susanto crashed out in the first round to team-mate, Hardy Rachmadian, 196-218. Hardy's run was ended when he lost to semi-finalist, Aseel 212-247 in the second round. Billy Mohammad Islam edged India's Dhruv Sarda 49-38 in a nine and ten frame roll off to break the tie on 233 in the first round.

Second consecutive title for Ammar

But Billy was dispatched by semi-finalist, Annop 266-190 in Round 2. Hong Kong Open second runner-up, Ryan Lalisang defeated Tony Wong of Hong Kong, 243-233 in the first round before losing to finalist, Wu 232-252 in the next round.

Ms Vivien Lau, ABF Tour Committee Chairman and World Bowling Secretary General was on hand to present the trophies to the champions and cheques to the top four winners of both the divisions. The ABF Tour Hong Kong 2017 leg is the fourth of six legs to be staged in East Asia this year with the official host broadcaster, i-Cable TV providing live TV coverage from SCAA Bowling Centre to several countries in Asia. The next stop will be in Jakarta, Indonesia on October 15.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

ABF Tour Hong Kong
  Reply Slip
  Round 1 & 2 Matches
  Semi-Finals Matches
   - Women's Semi M1
   - Women's Semi M2
   - Men's Semi M1
   - Men's Semi M2
  Final Matches
   - Women's Final
   - Men's Final
  Final Results
  Photo Album
Organized by

Hong Kong Tenpin Bowling Congress
Host Broadcaster

Hosted at

SCAA Bowling Centre
 Copyright © Jaya Ancol Bowling Center, 2005-2017. All Rights Reserved. Designed and maintained by NetMedia Services